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Editor’s Note: Due to problems in printing the magazine, last month's “"Mathematics of Gambling™ may
have proved confusing to some readers. In the diagram on page 44 of the October issue, readers should note
that there are four Black men on the I point. These men are undistinguishable due to the quality of the print-
ing. In the diagram on page 45, there are no Black men on the #1 point, and there is one Black man on the #3

point and one on the # point.

Since this month’s column refers back to the tables that accompanied last month's column, we are reprinting
Table 5 at the end of this article. Please note that the shading on this chart differs from that in last month’s col-
umn. Table 5 appears as it appears in this month’s issue is correct; if you will go back over Dr. Thorp’s column
for October, you will find that it reads correctly with regard to the revised table.

This month we will illustrate and explain the use of
the tables presented last month. In that article, I
referred to a book entitled How Good Are You at
Backgammon: 75 Challenging Test Situations by
Nicolaos and Vassilios Tzannes, Simon and Shuster,
1974. Consider first Situation 74 from the Tzannes’
book. This is shown in Diagram 1. -
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It is Black's turn so he is Player One. Black
doubles. Should he? If he does, should White accept?
The cube is in the middle. We look in Table 5, row
6+1, column 1+1. Black should not accept. If he
does, White should accept. (This is correctly recom-
mended by the Tzannes' book.) Table 3 shows that
Black's expectation under best play, which means not
doubling, is —17%. If instead Black has the cube, we
use Tables 4 and 5. In this example we get exactly the
same answer. This isn't always the case, though, as
we will see.

This example is also easy to analyze directly. If
Black bears off in his next turn he will win. The
chances are 15/36 (Table 1, column before last). If he
does not bear off at once, White will win and Black
will lose. So if the current stake is 1 unit, and Black
does not double, Black’s expected gain is +1 unit X
15/36—1 unit X 21/36 = —B/36 = —16 2/3%. Now
suppose Black doubles and White accepts. Then
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Black’s expected gain is + 2 units X 15/36—2 units X
21/36 = —12/36 = —33%. On average Black will lose
an extra 16 2/3% of a unit if he makes the mistake of
doubling and White accepts.

It's easy to see from this type of reasoning that if
Player One has any two-man position and Player Two
will bear off on the next turn, then Player One should
not double (if he can) when his chance to bear off in
one roll is less than 50%. If his chance to bear off is
more than 50%, he should double. Referring to the
same Table 1 of the article before last proves this rule
which the Tzannes cite for these special situations:

With double three, six-one, six-two for
anything worse)

Keep dumb, hope for the best. Anything
better, don’t delay,

Double the stakes with zest.

The Tzannes' Situation 73 is similiar.

Here is a trickier situation that I don’t think you
could figure out without help from last month's
tables. Suppose White has 6+6, Black has 4+4,
White is to roll and the doubling cube is in the middle.
This is shown in Diagram 2. Should White double?
How does the game proceed for various rolls?
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White is Player One. He consults Table 3 from last
month and sees his expectation is 16%. But Table 5
tells White not to double. We now show how to use
the table to play optimally for a sample series of rolls.
Suppose White rolls 3-1. How does he play it? He can
end up with 6+2 or with 5+3.

The rule from two months ago says that 5+ 3 looks
better because it gives him a greater chance to bear
off on the next turn. This is proven by the tables as
follows: after White plays, it will be Black’s turn.
Black will be Player One with 4+4, White will be
Player Two with either 543 or 6+2. The cube will be
in the middle. Which is best for White? Consult Table
3. We find Player One (Black] has an expectation of
88% if White has 5+3 whereas Black has 96% if
White has 6+2. White wants to keep Black’s expecta-
tion down so he plays to leave 5+3.

The situation after White makes this move is
shown in Diagram 3.
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Black is to roll and the cube is in the middle. Should
Black deuble? Should White accept? Table 5 says
Black should double and White should accept. Table
3 says Black's expected gain is B8% of the oneunit
stake.

Next Black rolls 2-1. He can leave 4+1 or 3+2. The
rule from two months ago says 4+1 is better. To con-
firm this, note that after Black moves, White will be
Player One with 5+ 3, Black will be Player Two with
either 4+1 or 34+2 and White will have the cube.
Therefore we consult Table 4, not Table 3. If Black
leaves 4+ 1, White's expectation is 2% of the current
two-unit stake. If Black leaves 3+ 2, White's expecta-
tion is 15%. Therefore Black leaves 4+1.

It is now White's turn. The situation is shown in
Diagram 4.

End Positions in Backgammon,

Part III
by Edward Thorp
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The stake is 2 units, White's expectation is 2% of 2
units or .04 unit and White has the cube. What should
he do? Table 5 tells us White should not double.

White now rolls 5-2, leaving 1+0. Black does not
have the cube. Table 2 gives his expectation as 61%
of 2 units or 1.22 units. He wins or loses on this next
roll.

The tables show certain patterns that help you to
understand them better. For instance, for a given
position it is best for Player One to have the cube. It
is next best for Player One if the cube is in the middle
and it is worst for Player One for Player Two to have
the cube. Therefore for a given position, Player One’s
expectation is greatest in Table 4. least in Table 2,
and in between in Table 3. For instance, with Player
One having 6+6 and Player Two having 4+ 4, Player
One's expectation is 25% if he has the cube, 16% if it
is in the middle, and 7% if Player Two has the cube.

Sometimes two or even all of the expectations are
the same. For instance, if Player One has 646 and
Player Two has 645, Player One's expectation is
71% if he has the cube or if it’s in the middle. If
Player Two has the cube Player One's expectation
drops to 36%.

Examination of the doubling strategies in Table 5
shows that the positions where Player One should
double and Player Two should fold are the same
whether Player One has the cube or the cube is in the
middle. Although this happens for the two-man end
pmutmns we are analyzing here, it is not always true

in backgammon. The positions where Player One
shnuld double and it doesn’t matter if Player Two ac-
cepts or folds also are the same in Table 5. But some
of the positions where Player One should double and
Player Two should accept are different. If Player one

continued on page 75
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has the cube, Table 5 shows that he should be more
conservative. Intuitively, this is because if he has the
cube and does not double, he prevenis Player Two
from doubling. whereas if the cube is in the middle,
Player Two cannot be prevented from doubling.

Table 5 leads to an example that will confound the
intuition of almost all players. Suppose Player One
has 5+2 and has the cube. Consider two cases: (a)
Player Two has 1+0 and (b) Player Two has 6+0. In
which of these cases should Player One double? Clear-
ly 6+0 is a worse position than 1+0. And the worse
the position the more likely we are to double, right?
So of the four possible answers (double 1+0 and 6+0,
double 1+0 but not 6+0, double 6+0 but not 1+0,
don’'t double 1+0 or 6+0) we “know” we can
eliminate “double 1+0, don’t double 6+0,” right?
WRONG. The only correct answer, from Table 5, is:
double 1+0 but don’t double 6+40. Try this on vour
expert friends. They will almost always be wrong. If
they do get it right they probably were either “‘lucky”
or read this column. In that case if you ask them to
explain why their answer is correct, they probably
won’t be able to.

You may think that the loss would be slight by
doubling 6+ 0 erroneously. But you have an expected
gain of 29% by not doubling (Table 4) whereas by
doubling it can be shown that your expectation drops
to only 11%.

The exact explanation is complex: I'll present it in

another column if there are several requests. The
basic idea, though, is that if Player One doubles
Player Two, Player Two accepts, and Player One
doesn’t win at once, Player Two can use the cube
against Player One with great effect at Player Two's
next turn.

Jacoby and Crawford discuss what is esseniially
the same example (they give Player Two 4+ 1 instead
of 64+0) on pages 116-117 of their excellent The
Backgammon Book, Viking Press, New York, 1970.
Tahle 5 of last month's column shows that essentially
the same situation occurs when Player One has 5+2
and Player Two has 4+1, 540,640, 2+20r34+2 and
for no other two-man end positions.

Tables 2, 3, 4 and 5 of last month’s column present,
for the first time anywhere, the complete, exact solu-
tions to two-man end games in backgammon. The
tables were calculated by a general method I have
discovered for getting the complete exact solution to
all backgammon positions that are pure races (i.e. the
two sides are permanently out of contact). The in-
tricate and difficult computer programs for com-
puting Tables 2 through 5 were written by Don
Smolen so Tables 2 through 5 are our joint work. Don
was a computer scientist at Temple University. He is
now trading stock options on the floor of the
American Stock Exchange. A skilled backgammon
player, he won the 1977 American Stock Exchange
tournament.

Remember, send your questions to me care of this
magazine. | won't be able to answer them individual-
Iy, but 1 will answer some of them in this column.g:

TABLE 5 Doubling strategy when Player One has the move. Doubling strategy is the same, whether One

has the cube or it is in the middle, except for the shaded

. If Player One has Lhe cube he should not douhle

for positions in the shaded region. If he makes the mistake of dul.lblmg. Two should accept. When the cube isin
the middle, One should double for positions in the shaded region and Two should accept.
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